Conveyances, is it for me?

By Robert Corbeil, AKA Captain Jack
This article aims to give you a good overview of what to expect when you participate in a delivery. We will establish a list of "pluses" and "minuses",  give an idea of the costs involved and outline the roles of each. We will also identify some qualities of being a good captain. At the end of this article, we hope that you will be able to have a better understanding of what the experience of a ferry ride means, allowing you to objectively assess the situation and thus be able to make an informed decision. before embarking on this adventure.

 

Several sailors or neophytes toy with the idea of acquiring a sailboat in order to sail around the world, or even to sail in the tropics, near paradisiacal beaches and thus discover the richness of the islands, the local culture and the customs of the islanders. Others would simply like to go away for a week or two in a small group in order to sail and explore Martinique, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, etc., go snorkeling, sunbathe on the beautiful beaches or for the more active, go for a hike or visit certain historic sites.

 

The delivery, for its part, consists of bringing a boat from point A to point B. Some deliveries are of short duration (3 to 5 days), such as when a sailboat is brought from Tadoussac to Sorel, from Toronto to Cornwall or even from Quebec to Montreal. Other convoys are much longer (20 to 30 days).  For example, conveying a sailboat from Plattsburgh to the Bahamas, from Puerto Vallarta to Vancouver or even making a transatlantic crossing between the Bahamas and France. It is therefore another dynamic, as you will have understood.  

 

So let’s start with an analysis of the “pluses”  :

MORE - Top 10

  1. A unique life on board experience . Live aboard a sailboat with other crew members, see breathtaking landscapes, discover new territories, participate in beautiful discussions, observe sunsets, moonrises, share moments of laughter , find out who the other crew members are, make friends, sail, have time for yourself and experience moments of great happiness. That's a nice portrait, right?

  2. The love of wide open spaces. The city, the traffic, the queues, the horns, the stress... versus the sea as far as the eye can see, the great lakes, the starry skies... the choice is simple. For some it is not a choice but a need! How good it is for the soul to contemplate the sea . You will experience this feeling of happiness and feel that you are one with nature.

  3. The marine CV. Yes, it's also a way to add Nautical Miles to your marine CV . Lots of miles! The captain will distinguish between daytime hours and nighttime hours. He will be able to complete your FVQ sailing logbook and sign it. Do not forget it!

  4. Travel inexpensively . Normally, the Captain is remunerated for the ferrying. A contract between him and the owner is established. Crew members must pay an amount that varies between $500 and $800 depending on the duration of the navigation, which comes to about $20/day. The second does not have to pay these costs. You will also have to pay the costs to get to the starting point and for the return. These costs therefore depend on where you live and where the departure takes place. Finally, the crew and mate will have to cover the costs for food for them and the captain. We are talking about a budget of approximately $20 to $30 per person/day. It is strongly recommended that everyone take out travel insurance.

  5. Living in the moment. When you are at the helm, you can only be in the present moment ! All problems disappear. You will also have moments to collect yourself, reflect, moments for yourself.  

  6. A moment of renewal . Some come to escape from their reality, others live this adventure like a “Compostelle” on the water. It's time to do some introspection and grow from this experience. We can normally share without fear with the other team members What is said on the sailboat stays on the sailboat. ☺

  7. Beyond its limits. You will have several opportunities, along the trip, to contribute in your own way to the quality of life, to repairs... and you will be surprised at your contribution. Sometimes you will find it difficult, but in the end you will come out grown and happy to have exceeded your limits .  

  8. The heat of the sun. In hot regions… no need to draw a picture… often associated with beautiful sandy beaches and palm trees. In regions like the North Pacific or during transatlantic races, the sun is a source of energy (for batteries) and vitamin D. This is an undeniable plus.

  9. Sailing by motor. In some cases, motor navigation is necessary. Often it is to get to a given point more quickly. Normally this means less gite. For cooking, it's fine. The purr of the engine can be comforting if you're at 1800 rpm or less.

  10. Navigate at night. The light pollution of our cities means that we can barely see a few stars. But at sea, everything takes a different turn.  See thousands of stars and constellations : Orion, Pegasus, Ursa Minor, Cassiopeia, Hercules, Scorpio, etc. Not to mention shooting stars… not to be confused with satellites which have a constant speed.

Cons - Top 10

  1. Seasickness. You may get seasick . The problem is that when (especially for long deliveries) you find yourself quite far from the coast, a return to land can mean the end of the trip for you. You will then have to manage to get home on your own. The crew will therefore have to organize with one crew member less! It is therefore wise to bring your medication for seasickness. The captain will give you some tips.

  2. You have to manage the 5 F. 1) Hunger 2) Fatigue 3) Cold 4) Jitters 5) Fuel (smell). You need to eat regularly and avoid spicy food, get plenty of rest, dress for the weather and have a change of clothes, manage the weather well and avoid smelling gasoline as much as possible.  

  3. Sail at night. Most deliveries involve night navigation. Here is an example of a shift for 3 team members. You will therefore sleep in blocks of 4 hours . This can become tedious and it would be frowned upon to pass your turn,  unless you have a good reason. Fortunately, during the day you can take a nap and regain energy.:

    1. Crewman 1: 2000 to 2200

    2. Crewman 2: 2200 to 2400

    3. Crewman 3: 2400 to 0200

    4. Crew 1: 0200 to 0400

    5. Crew 2: 0400 to 0600

    6. Crew 3: 0600 to 0800  

  4. Sleep on board. You think you can sleep a good 8 hours straight… you dream in color. Think more in 4 hour blocks. If you have the choice, always take an aft cabin, especially if you are sailing upwind. If so, the sailboat will ride up the waves and slam back down! You will levitate for 1-2 seconds before falling back onto the bed. It's not very pleasant . Usually the square is reserved for the Captain. This gives him quick access to commands when needed.  

  5. Participation in meals. You will have to participate in the on-board cash register and the preparation of meals . There is usually no designated chef and everyone will have to  take turns preparing meals.

  6. Difficulties concentrating. Reading or any other task that requires a great level of detail could be difficult to achieve especially if you are working in the cabin. It is possible, but be aware that many people feel nauseous when they are in the cabin.  

  7. Limited internet access. We had to talk about it. Internet access may be limited by location or completely absent in the case of transatlantic. You normally find network if you go along the coast… there will be network except that you should not expect to be in 5G at all times. Cell phone addict… you risk being in withdrawal!

  8. Lots of engine. The captain must normally respect a delivery schedule. So we have to expect a lot of engine power, especially if the wind isn't picking up, if a depression hits us or if we're behind schedule!  

  9. Sailing maneuvers are limited . Maneuvers are normally limited to maneuvers necessary for the route to be followed. As the sailboat belongs to the owner, it is not possible to practice docking, jibing or recovering a man overboard. The captain, since he is responsible for the safety of the crew and the sailboat, will be responsible for the maneuvers dock or other urgent manoeuvres.  

  10. The weather and flexibility in the schedule. The sun might not be out. It is necessary to anticipate that there may be rain and bad weather. Depressions are also to be anticipated which sometimes means that we will have to shelter in a port for a few days. You should be prepared to add a few days to your schedule.

The roles of each:

  • The Captain ensures the safety of the crew and the sailboat. He updates the logbook. He defines the routes to follow and makes sure to give clear instructions to the team members;

  • The second works in collaboration with the Captain. He is a full-fledged crew member and responds to the Captain's orders;

  • The crew carry out the Captain's orders, do the dishes, cook and take part in maneuvers.

 

A good Captain:  

  • Has experience;

  • Is calm;

  • Surrounds himself with team members who have complementary skills (Ex. motor, electricity, cooking, etc.);

  • Gives clear and realistic instructions;

  • Remains available to respond to any request regardless of the time of day or night;

  • Plan your route well. He must have up-to-date maps and a good tracking system (Ex: Navionics);

  • Follows the weather closely and knows when to return to port to avoid major depressions. He plans ports of refuge;

  • Has a communication system to be able to communicate (weather or emergency) at all times (ex: Iridium);

  • Listens to team members;

  • Manages the crew well and makes sure everyone is part of the team and feels their best.

Was this article helpful to you? Share it or leave a comment!

Grrr...

Captain Jack

Les convoyages, est-ce fait pour moi?

Auteur: Robert Corbeil, Alias Capitaine Jack

Cet article a comme objectif de vous donner un bon aperçu de ce qui vous attend lorsque vous participez à un convoyage. Nous établirons une liste des « plus » et des « moins »,  donnerons une idée des coûts impliqués et survolerons les rôles de chacun. Nous identifierons également certaines qualités permettant d'être un bon capitaine. À la fin de cet article, nous espérons que vous serez en mesure d’avoir une meilleure compréhension de ce que l’expérience d’un convoyage signifie, vous permettant d’évaluer objectivement la situation et ainsi être en mesure de prendre une décision éclairée avant de vous embarquer dans cette aventure.

 

Plusieurs marins ou néophytes caressent l’idée de faire l’acquisition d’un voilier afin de réaliser un tour du monde, ou encore de naviguer sous les tropiques, près de plages paradisiaques et de découvrir ainsi la richesse des îles, la culture locale et les coutumes des insulaires. D’autres aimerait simplement partir une semaine ou deux en petit groupe afin de naviguer et d’explorer la Martinique, Sainte-Lucie, Saint-Vincent et les Grenadines, etc., faire de la plongée en apnée, se faire bronzer sur les belles plages ou pour les plus actifs, faire une randonnée ou encore visiter certains lieux historiques.

 

Le convoyage pour sa part consiste à amener un bateau du point A au point B. Certains convoyages sont de courte durée (3 à 5 jours), comme lorsque l’on apporte un voilier de Tadoussac à Sorel, de Toronto à Cornwall ou encore de Québec à Montréal. D’autres convoyages sont beaucoup plus longs (20 à 30 jours).  Par exemple, convoyer un voilier de Plattsburgh vers les Bahamas, de Puerto Vallarta vers Vancouver ou encore effectuer une transatlantique entre les Bahamas et la France. Il s’agit donc d’une autre dynamique, vous l’aurez bien compris. 

 

Débutons donc par une analyse des « plus » et les « moins » :

 

CONVOYAGE

LES PLUS (top 10)

  1. Une expérience de vie à bord unique. Vivre à bord d’un voilier avec d’autres équipiers et équipières, voir des paysages à couper le souffle, découvrir de nouveaux territoires, participer à belles discussions, observer des coucher de soleil, des lever de lune, partager des moments de fou rire, découvrir qui sont les autres équipier.e.s, se faire des ami.e.s, naviguer, avoir du temps pour soi et vivre des moments de grand bonheur. Voilà un portrait agréable, non?

  2. L’amour des grands espaces. La ville, le trafic, les files d’attente, les klaxons, le stress... versus la mer à perte de vue, les grands lacs, les ciels étoilés… le choix est simple. Pour certains ce n’est pas un choix mais un besoin! Que cela fait du bien à l’âme de contempler la mer. Vous vivrez ce sentiment de bonheur et ressentirez que vous ne faites qu’un avec la nature.

  3. Le CV marin. Eh oui, c’est aussi une façon d’ajouter des Miles Nautiques à votre CV marin. Beaucoup de miles! Le capitaine distinguera les heures de jours et les heures de nuit. Il pourra compléter votre carnet de voile de la FVQ et le signer. Ne l’oubliez pas!

  4. Voyager à peu de frais. Normalement, le Capitaine est rémunéré pour le convoyage. Un contrat entre lui et le propriétaire est établi. Les équipiers doivent s’affranchir d’un montant qui varie entre 500$ et 800$ selon la durée de la navigation, ce qui revient à environ 20$/jour. Le second n’a pas à débourser ces coûts. Vous devrez aussi débourser les frais pour vous rendre au point de départ et pour le retour. Ces frais dépendent donc d'où vous habitez et où a lieu le départ. Enfin, les équipiers et le second devront couvrir les coûts pour la nourriture pour eux et le capitaine. On parle d’un budget d’environ 20$ à 30$ par personne/jour dépendamment du menu. Il est fortement recommandé que chacun souscrive une assurance voyage.

  5. Vivre le moment présent. Lorsqu’on est à la barre, on ne peut être que dans le moment présent! Tous les problèmes disparaissent. Vous aurez également des moments pour vous recueillir, réfléchir, des moments pour vous. 

  6. Un moment de ressourcement. Certains viennent pour s’échapper de leur réalité, d’autres vivent cette aventure comme un « Compostelle » sur l’eau. C’est le moment de faire une introspection et de sortir grandi.e de cette expérience. On peut normalement partager sans crainte avec les autres équipier.e.s. Ce qui se dit sur le voilier reste sur le voilier. ☺

  7. Dépasser ses limites. Vous aurez plusieurs occasions, au fil du voyage, de contribuer à votre manière à la qualité de vie, aux réparations… et vous serez surpris de votre apport. Quelques fois vous trouverez cela difficile mais en bout de ligne vous sortirez grandi et heureux d’avoir dépassé vos limites. 

  8. La chaleur du soleil. Dans les régions chaudes… pas besoin de faire un dessin… souvent associées aux belles plages de sable et aux palmiers. Dans les régions comme le Pacifique Nord ou lors des transatlantiques, le soleil est source d’énergie (pour les batteries) et de vitamine D. C’est un plus indéniable.

  9. Naviguer à moteur. Dans certains cas, il est nécessaire de naviguer à moteur… Souvent c’est pour se rendre plus rapidement à un point donné. Normalement, cela veut dire moins de gite. Pour faire la cuisine, c'est bien. Le ronronnement du moteur peut être réconfortant si on est à 1800 tours et moins.

  10. Naviguer de nuit. La pollution par la lumière de nos villes fait en sorte que l’on voit à peine quelques étoiles. Mais en mer, tout prend une autre tournure… Voir des milliers d’étoiles et constellations : Orion, Pégase, la Petite Ourse, Cassiopée, Hercule, le Scorpion, etc. Sans compter les étoiles filantes… à ne pas confondre avec les satellites qui ont une vitesse constante.

 

 

LES MOINS​ (top 10)

  1. Le mal de mer. Il est possible que vous ayez le mal de mer. Le problème c’est que lorsque (surtout pour les longs convoyages), l’on se retrouve assez loin des côtes, un retour à terre peut signifier l’arrêt du voyage pour vous. Vous devrez alors vous débrouiller pour rentrer à la maison par vos propres moyens. L’équipage devra donc s’organiser avec un équipier en moins! Il est donc sage d’apporter sa médication contre le mal de mer. Le capitaine vous donnera quelques trucs.

  2. Il faut gérer les 5 F. 1) Faim 2) Fatigue 3) Froid 4) Frousse 5) Fuel (odeur). Vous devez manger régulièrement en évitant ce qui est trop épicé, bien vous reposer, vous habiller en fonction de la météo et avoir du linge de rechange, bien gérer la météo et éviter autant que possible de sentir les odeurs d’essence. 

  3. Naviguez de nuit. La plupart des convoyages impliquent une navigation de nuit. Voici un exemple de quart pour 3 équipiers. Vous dormirez donc par bloc de 4 heures. Cela peut devenir fastidieux et il serait mal vu de passer votre tour,  sauf si vous avez une bonne raison. Heureusement, pendant la journée, vous pourrez faire la sieste et reprendre de l’énergie.:

    1. Équipier 1 : 2000 à 2200

    2. Équipier 2 : 2200 à 2400

    3. Équipier 3 : 2400 à 0200

    4. Équipier 1 : 0200 à 0400

    5. Équipier 2 : 0400 à 0600

    6. Équipier 3 : 0600 à 0800 

  4. Dormir à bord. Vous pensez pouvoir dormir un bon 8 heures d'affilée… vous rêvez en couleur. Pensez plus en bloc de 4 heures. Si vous avez le choix, prenez toujours une cabine à l’arrière, surtout si vous naviguez au Près. Si c’est le cas, le voilier va monter les vagues et redescendre en claquant! Vous léviterez 1 à 2 secondes avant de retomber sur le lit. Ce n’est pas très agréable. Habituellement, le carré est réservé pour le Capitaine. Il a ainsi un accès rapide aux commandes au besoin. 

  5. Participation aux repas. Vous devrez participer à la caisse de bord et à la préparation des repas. Il n’y a habituellement pas de chef cuisinier désigné et chacun devra  participer à la préparation des repas à tour de rôle.

  6. Difficultés à se concentrer et à focuser. La lecture ou toute autre tâche qui demande un grand niveau de détail pourrait être difficile à réaliser surtout si vous travaillez dans la cabine. C’est possible, mais sachez que plusieurs personnes ont la nausée lorsqu’elles sont dans la cabine. 

  7. Accès limité à Internet. Il fallait bien en parler. L’accès Internet peut-être limité par endroit ou complètement absent dans le cas de transatlantique. On trouve normalement du réseau si on longe les côtes… il y aura du réseau sauf qu’il ne faut pas s’attendre à être en 5G en tout temps. Accro du cellulaire… vous risquez d’être en sevrage!

  8. Beaucoup de moteur. Le capitaine doit normalement respecter un échéancier de livraison. Il faut donc s’attendre à beaucoup de moteur surtout si le vent n’adonne pas, si une dépression arrive sur nous ou si nous sommes en retard sur l’échéancier! 

  9. Les manœuvres à voile sont limitées. Les manœuvres se limitent normalement aux manœuvres nécessaires en fonction de la route à suivre. Comme le voilier appartient au propriétaire, il n’est pas possible de pratiquer les accostages, empannages ou récupération d’un homme à la mer. Le capitaine, puisque responsable de la sécurité de l’équipage et du voilier, sera responsable des manœuvres à quai ou autres manœuvres urgentes. 

  10. La météo et la flexibilité dans l’horaire. Le soleil pourrait ne pas être au rendez-vous. Il faut anticiper qu’il puisse y avoir de la pluie et du mauvais temps. Les dépressions sont également à anticiper ce qui veut dire parfois que nous devrons nous abriter à un port pour quelques jours. Vous devez être prêt à ajouter quelques jours à votre horaire.

 

Les rôles :

  • Le Capitaine assure la sécurité de l’équipage et du voilier. Il met à jour le journal de bord. Il défini les routes à suivre et s’assure de donner des directives claires aux équipiers;

  • Le second travaille en collaboration avec le Capitaine. Il est équipier à part entière et répond aux ordres du Capitaine;

  • Les équipiers exécutent les ordres du Capitaine, font la vaisselle, la cuisine et prennent part aux manœuvres.

 

Un bon Capitaine : 

  • À de l’expérience ;

  • Est calme;

  • S’entoure d’équipiers qui ont des compétences complémentaires (Ex. moteur, électricité, cuisine, etc.;

  • Donne des directives claires et réalistes;

  • Reste disponible pour répondre à toute demande peu importe l’heure du jour ou de la nuit;

  • Planifie bien sa route. Il doit avoir les cartes à jour et un bon système de traçage (Ex : Navionics);

  • Suit de près la météo et sait quand rentrer au port afin d’éviter les grosses dépressions. Il planifie des ports de refuges ;

  • A un système de communication pour communiquer (météo ou secours) en tout temps (Ex : Iridium);

  • Est à l’écoute des équipiers;

  • Gère bien l’équipage et s’assure que tout le monde fasse partie de l’équipe et se sente au mieux.

Cet article vous a été utile? Partagez le ou faites un commentaire.

Grrr...

Capitaine Jack